the most consistently able writer science fiction has yet produced

Es­ti­mated reading time is 1 minute.

FREDERIK POHL—sci­ence fic­tion au­thor, for which he won a Hugo and a Nebula (Gateway, 1977) and the only Na­tional Book Award given in a one-year cat­e­gory for that genre (Gem, 1980); ed­itor (for which he won seven Hugos (Galaxy and If mag­a­zines, 1962-1969); lit­erary agent (who helped get Isaac Asi­mov’s first novel pub­lished); critic and historian—died on Sep­tember 2, 2013, at the age of 93.


Pohl’s mem­oirs, The Way The Fu­ture Was, is one of few such books in the genre. It is both ed­u­ca­tional and entertaining.

A few awards

From 1959 until 1969, Pohl edited Galaxy mag­a­zine and its sister mag­a­zine If. The latter won three suc­ces­sive an­nual Hugo Awards as the year’s best pro­fes­sional magazine.

In 1977, his novel Gateway won four Best Novel awards: the Hugo, the Locus, the Nebula, and the  John W. Camp­bell Memo­rial Award.

In 1979, his novel Jem won a Na­tional Book Award.


In 1984, his col­lec­tion of novellas Years of the City won the Camp­bell Memo­rial Award.

In 1993, the Sci­ence Fic­tion Writers of America named Pohl its 12th re­cip­ient of the Damon Knight Memo­rial Grand Master Award.

In 1998, he was in­ducted by the Sci­ence Fic­tion and Fan­tasy Hall of Fame, its third class of two dead and two living writers.

In 2010, Pohl won the Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer for his blog The Way the Fu­ture Blogs.

New maps of hell

In his book on sci­ence fic­tion, New Maps Of Hell (1960), British au­thor and his­to­rian Kingsley Amis called Pohl the “most con­sis­tently able writer [that] sci­ence fic­tion, in its modern form, has yet produced.”

Rest in peace, Mr. Pohl.



Leave a comment

Notify of
Rate this article:
Please rate this article with your comment.
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments